Budding Magnolia Tree

Digital Painting of Spring Magnolia Buds -

Saucer Magnolia - Watercolor by Theresa L Wysocki

Watercolor of magnolia buds at the Kauffman Memorial Garden.
Created March 2014 using Corel Painter.

All it has experienced, tasted, suffered: The course of years, generations of animals, oppression, recovery, friendship of sun and wind, will pour forth each day in the song of its rustling foliage, in the friendly gesture of its gently swaying crown, in the delicate sweet scent of resinous sap moistening the sleep-glued buds, and the eternal game of lights and shadows it plays with itself, content. ~ quote about a tree by Hermann Hesse

Photo of Spring Magnolia Buds -

Saucer Magnolia by Theresa L Wysocki

The photo that I used to create the digital watercolor. I took this slightly underexposed photo of Saucer Magnolia, ‘Rustica Rubra’, Magnolia x soulangiana in March of 2014.

For more information about the Kauffman Memorial Garden, please visit the Kauffman Memorial Garden Visitor Information.

Photography tips and tutorials:

6 thoughts on “Budding Magnolia Tree

  1. Marylin Warner

    Hesse’s tree comment is signature Hesse. He could write about a stone in the road and give it history and soul!
    Theresa, the photograph and the watercolor of the flowering magnolia are a beautiful blend; very effective and real. Well done.

    1. thirdhandart Post author

      Thank you Marylin. I agree about Hesse. He was a talented writer. While researching Hesse’s quote, I came upon some of Hesse’ watercolors… they’re beautiful.

  2. Sherri

    I don’t know what’s more beautiful, your original photo or your digital watercolour painting of it. Thank you for explaining that the photo is slightly under-exposed, that helped me understand how you accomplished this particular effect. It looks almost 3D to me! Magnolia is exquisite (love the colour of this one) and you’ve captured it magnificently just as it’s about to burst into full bloom! Just gorgeous Theresa.

    1. thirdhandart Post author

      Thank you Sherri. I’m trying to reply via my phone. I’ve got a lot to learn about watercolor painting with Corel Painter. I under-exposed the photo in order to get more detail in the watercolor painting. I don’t know if that’s proper procedure, but I like looking at the details in paintings. Thanks again for commenting… take care.

  3. Uncle Tree

    If it weren’t for Hermann’s love of trees, I might still be a person. ;)
    Best wishes with your Painter! Looks like you’re off to a great start.

Comments are closed.